Popularizing Positivity with ENSPIRE Magazine

Media entrepreneur Ese Ofurhie is carving out her own lane, and making the case for feel-good content that entertains and enlightens.

Homegirl Media
6 min readNov 5, 2020

Ese Ofurhie is the publisher of ENSPIRE Magazine, which she calls “The Growing Voice of Positive Media.” But in today’s media landscape, can you commodify community-focused content? Can you popularize positivity? Ese shares some insight into the makings of a mission-driven magazine.

“ENSPIRE’s mission is to highlight the positive things people are doing for themselves and the community in order to encourage and enlighten others. This is to be a movement of positive change in media and in everything we do.”

Born and raised in the Bronx, NY, (by way of Sapele, Nigeria), Ese started ENSPIRE in 2012 with three partners. Eight years, and several iterations later, she is the sole owner of the business. With no background in journalism, an MBA, and a day job as a substitute teacher (pre-COVID), this perhaps unlikely publisher is defining success on her own terms.

Ese, which means God’s Gift or Gift of God, is using her talents to tell impactful stories by: Enlightening Newsworthy Subjects Providing Inspiration and Real Entertainment!

How do you start a magazine?

You have to know what content you want to put out and think about who do you want to see it and why? Once you put those pieces together you do your research on how to create with that content and put it together.

Take a closer look at these issues online.

How do you select your cover stories or people you feature on the cover?

I usually have a theme and think about what is going on around me. I then have meetings with my creative director or colleague to brainstorm and that is usually when I come up with the featured person. I do not know what story I am going to get until I sit down and interview them or have a writer do it. It is the most amazing process because that conversation with the feature always sets the tone for the issue.

To preview these issues and purchase, visit the website.

What is the most rewarding part of your work?

Part of it is me seeing what I can do and who I can affect in a positive way. The second part is seeing the people I affect. I have interns from years ago that I still keep in touch with. They send me emails thanking me and letting me know what I did for them. That warms my heart and makes me feel as if I am fulfilling my purpose.

What is the most challenging part about your work?

The most challenging part of what I do is keeping up. If I am not a one-woman team, I have a small team and there is always so much to do. I also deal with a lot of people via events, emails, phone calls or just in general. I have to always figure a way to keep the brand current and interesting.

What has been the toughest business lesson you learned?

I have learned to hurry up and mess up so you can fix it, alter it and try again. Nothing is perfect at first but when you keep working at it, that undeniable effort will bring results. I also learned that everyone may not share your exact vision and it is always important to be transparent with yourself first. It is important so you can be sure of the people you have on your team are down for the long run and if not at least they kept it real with you from the beginning and you will not be surprised.

Many people say that “print is dead.” Do you agree?

To an extent, it is true because now it’s all about the Internet — everything is digital. However, there are still people who like to feel the pages they are reading. It depends on the audience as well. For me, I continue to take it year by year and how it affects the audience.

Where does ENSPIRE fit into the current media landscape?

Hmm, I feel it doesn’t and that is what makes it different and difficult. I do not know too many platforms or outlets doing what ENSPIRE is doing with media.

What’s one memorable mistake that taught you an invaluable lesson?

Choose your partners/team wisely. I made several mistakes choosing people along this journey. I had to learn to take the lead and make the big decisions for the benefit of the brand. If you did not bring the same passion and consistency to the table as I did, I just have to keep moving. It’s not personal, its just business is becoming my motto. I use to hear it so much when I started, it didn’t really make sense to me until later on.

Do you have any mentors? Are you a mentor to other women?

When I first started I met Sofia Davis, EIC of Fashion Avenue News and I have learned a lot from her. I actually created a mentorship program from ENSPIRE where I mentored young adults ages 18- 21. I love sharing my experiences because I have made it through them all, professionally and personally. It is from my experiences where I am able to guide and help them.

Who are women in the media business that you admire and why?

OMG, so many. I will say why first. Any woman who has taken nothing and created something or took something and made it better is a real boss. We go through so much as women that when I see women who overcome challenges, reach goals, make huge strides, sets a bar, these are praiseworthy. Oprah, Sade Baderinwa, Shonda Rhimes, Karen Civil, Necole or XONecole, Mikki Taylor, Kierna Mayo, Sofia Davis, Vera Moore, Cathy Hughes, Danielle Young. I can go on because I know I am missing many more.

Success is something personal. I started ENSPIRE with a goal in mind, and that is to create a positive movement known all around the world. However, I feel I have been successful in not giving up, in creating something that others can reach out to and relate a positive experience from. With that, I can motivate others, so that to me is a success.

Follow ENSPIRE on Facebook, YouTube, Instagram & Twitter for more!

--

--

Homegirl Media

This is the media we want to see ~ centering, celebrating and connecting the sisterhood between black women and girls.